This April, the Motion State team – Corey Koniniec, Ryan Haug, and Sam Nuttmann – traveled to Las Vegas, Nevada to attend the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) convention. We were invited by the Teradek team to speak on the “Teradek: Live At NAB 2015” show on three consecutive days for 30 minutes each day to talk about our experiences as professional MōVI Operators, gear we currently use in our MōVI ecosystem, and new gear we found at the show that might help push our operator skills even further on our shoots. If you missed the live show, you can still catch our segments online. I’ve posted each video segment below, with a summary of each discussion, as well as links to relevant websites for gear manufacturers discussed during each segment.

VIDEO SEGMENT: GIMBAL GEAR ESSENTIALS

SUMMARY: This segment is all about essential gear to the gimbal ecosystem. From the gimbal itself, to the remote lens control system, wireless video system, monitors, camera cart, gear cases, cables, powering solutions, and more, this segment covers it all. We also had a special guest from Freefly Systems come on the show with us to talk about their new products, such as the Mimic gimbal control system and the Alta drone system.

RELEVANT LINKS
Freefly Systems (MōVI): freeflysystems.com
Teradek wireless video systems: teradek.com
SmallHD monitors: smallhd.com
Cmotion wireless lens control systems: cmotion.eu
Hocus Products wireless lens control systems (Axis 1): hocusproducts.com
Redrock Micro (MicroRemote + finger wheel controller): redrockmicro.com
Bright Tangerine (Misfit Atom ultra lightweight matte box): brighttangerine.com
Inovativ Carts: inovativcarts.com
Battlefield Cinegear (flexible RED cables, MōVI cases, and more): battlefieldcine.com

VIDEO SEGMENT: COOL GIMBAL PERIPHERAL GEAR

SUMMARY: After walking around the tradeshow floor for a few days, we got to check out some very cool new gimbal peripheral gear, as well as see some updates to peripheral gear we’ve seen and used in the past. I had special guest Drew Janes from Defy Gimbals / Dactylcam join me on the show to talk about the Dactylcam cable cam system, which looks pretty amazing. I also brought on the the show the Exhauss exoskeleton system, which looks like a promising new way to deal with lifting heavier shooting packages with less strain on your arms. I discussed one of my favorite gimbal tools – the Walter Klassen FX Slingshot – which allows you to extend your gimbal high overhead with complete mobility, making it possible to get some incredible shots you could not achieve in any other way. I also talked about the EasyRig / FlowCine Serene combo which is another amazing and very effective way to alleviate the strain of the gimbal weight from the operator, while also aiding in removing vertical translation from the shot. We ran out of time before I could talk about FlowCine’s new innovation – The Puppeteer – which removes string force from the EasyRig and helps reduce side-to-side translation from the shot. Unfortunately, Corey and Ryan could not attend this third video segment, as they had projects to go MōVI operate on.

RELEVANT LINKS
Dactylcam (cable cam system): defywithus.com/collections/all/products/dactylcam
Exhauss (exoskeleton system): exhauss.com
Walter Klassen FX (Slingshot system): shop.walterklassen.com
FlowCine (Serene and Puppeteer systems): flowcine.com
EasyRig: easyrig.se

~ Sam Nuttmann, MōVI Operator / Cinematographer